Back to the Garden

You’d be right in thinking we haven’t been in the garden much lately but on Saturday we did get stuck into some Autumn chores.

Firstly I’ve harvested all of our Blue Popcorn and most of our Strawberry Popcorn. We had hoped to leave all the cobs on the plants until they’d completely dried out but the rain last weekend has encouraged what appears to be a mildew or fungus to get into the leaves of the Strawberry Popcorn in particular. I didn’t want to risk it infecting the cobs. I’m also pleased I picked the cobs as there were a few too many earwigs and slaters falling out of the cobs as I picked them for my liking. Not a big haul by any standard but an indicator of what I’ll focus on next year. The Blue Popcorn cobs were noticeably bigger, both the ears and the individual kernels, than the Strawberry Popcorns, (in the photo Blue is on the right and Strawberry is on the left). I can also confirm that we did get some cross-fertilisation from our one stray Golden Bantam plant that got mixed up with the popcorns. There are some decidedly non-yellow kernels in this cob.We are currently planning on grinding some of our corn, particularly the cobs that remain from the Golden Bantam Sweetcorn. We may only get one meal out of it but that’s a start.

TB also picked a great many Japanese Eggplants. He’s used 1.5kgs of eggplants to make Rose’s Pressed Eggplants, a recipe from Maggie’s Harvest (Maggie Beer, Lantern, Penguin Books, 2007) of salted, pressed and dried fennel flavoured eggplants. The feral fennel was harvested from down near the Mugga Lane tip. Unfortunately for TB he discovered too late that the fennel was growing on a Bull Ants nest and he has the ugly bites to prove it. It will take several weeks to process the eggplants so he’ll have to save it for the April Grow your Own collection.

Before we went away last weekend I direct seeded some bush peas and broadbeans into one of the garden beds. Some have come up already and some have also (from what remains of their stems) been just as quickly demolished by slugs and snails. I’ve now planted my second line of defence into pots. The two varieties I’ve planted are Bush Pea Massey and Snow Peas which were saved from last year’s crop. To encourage pollination, should they get that far, I’ve also planted seeds of 6 heritage Sweet Peas. I’ve read this tip in several books so I plan to give it a go. If nothing else I’ll hopefully get some nice flowers out of it! I also spent some time this planting onion seeds, Creamgold, a brown onion, and my favourite Rosso lunga di Firenze, a long red Italian variety.

Finally we had to do some pond cleaning today. When we got back from our weekend away we discovered our largest goldfish floating upside down on the top of the pond. Vale Klim! we had had him for 10 years. He (the goldfish that is) is survived by Thorpy who we also got at the same time. We are very impressed with the longevity of these two as most domestic goldfish are lucky to survive a year or more. Indeed their other two companions Van den Hoogenband and Suzie didn’t make it for more than a few years. Oh well we’ll just have to go and buy some new swimlets to keep Thorpy company.

It turns out I’m not the only one preparing for spring. During a walk in Commonwealth Park last week I spotted these strange markings on the grass. The work of a deranged grafitti artist? or the start of Floriade preparations? – you choose. From what I could see there seemed to be stars (or perhaps pentangles) and lots of clouds. I can’t see any mention of the 2010 theme on the website. Just remember you saw it here first!

CornharvestHybridBothcornsPressed_eggplantImage064

Thanks for leaving a comment. Let us know your experiences.

