A bit of a harvest

The problem with winter is that I just don’t get out in the garden as much as I should and combined with a major amnesia attack of what I’d planted earlier in the season I nearly missed out on harvesting my first cauliflowers. You see I thought they were cabbages. It was only when I went to check out why they seemed to be so slow in forming hearts that I realised my mistake. The other problem is that I got my timing wrong. Flowering, which is what they are doing, at this time of the year with all of the frosts we are having, is not a good idea. You can see the damage in the picture.

Grove_002

I  was able to use two of them with some judicious cutting out of the damaged bits. I used a recipe of Madhur Jaffrey’s, from Eastern Vegetarian Cooking, rather un-excitingly called Eggs, Potato and Cauliflower. It’s base is a flavourful combination of ginger, garlic, fenugreek seeds, chilli, onions, tumeric and curry leaves so it tasted really good. I’m afraid that my photo lacks somewhat of the ‘stylist’s’ touch and so you may not be at all inspired by the dish. However, we enjoyed it and were glad that we had enough for some leftovers!

Grove_008

I also took the opportunity of our fine weather on Sunday to get out and do some plant feeding, as suggested on Gardening Australia. Chook pellets for the onions and garlic; blood and bone on the brassicas; and dolomite lime on the peas and broad beans. The only one I didn’t do, for lack of the product was spray fish emulsion on the leafy greens such as lettuces. I also intend to do some watering of all our crops, using our various compost teas, to help the plants retain vigour in the frosty weather and help get them ready for spring.

TB also completed our first big spring preparation task – espalier-ing (is there such a word?) our apple trees. As you can see the trees are young and have some way to grow. Hopefully our good winter rains will set them up well for this year’s growing season.

Grove_009

3 thoughts on “A bit of a harvest

  1. Those cauliflowers look pretty good, even though they started off as cabbages!I’ll be very interested to hear how the apples go, I have been doing a bit of reading about espaliering(?) them, and hope to do this on the new land. I’d like some of the apples to be suitable to make cider. What apples do you have?

  2. Hi Variegatedat present we have a range of eating apples. The one in the photo is a Granny Smith on dwarf stock and we also have a Golden Delicious on dwarf stock. There is also a Red Braeburn (bred in NZ 1952) and our ‘oldest’ heiloom a Staymen’s Winesap from 1895). Sadly our Cox’s Orange pippin carked it over last summer. We would love to have some cider apples but are really pushing it for space at present. I was very taken by the range of apples and pears that were on offer from Strzelecki Heritage Apples (which we saw at Lambrigg’s Open Garden day last year). They offer 11 cider apple varieties as well as a two A4 page listing of eating, dessert, cooking and dual purpose apples. They were also most amenable to discussing appropriate grafting stock and varieties that would be most suited to your particular growing conditions. Their email address is strzapples@wideband.net.au (there wasn’t an internet address listed).Voted withour forks

Thanks for leaving a comment. Let us know your experiences.

