Feeling your beans

I have done some weird stuff since I started growing my own veggies, but fondling bean pods never came into the picture before now.

I wrote earlier this year about the beans I was growing, commenting on the edibility, or not of the pods. I was not very charitable about the Lazy Housewife bean, but she now has definitely come into her own.

Lazy Housewife Beans on the drying racks. Top, dried and bottom, freshly picked.
Lazy Housewife Beans on the drying racks. Top, dried and bottom, freshly picked.

Once I decided to use the beans for drying it all started to make sense. The Lazy Housewife bean rapidly goes to pod, but looks can be deceiving. I started picking quite a few apparently full pods only to find that the beans inside were very small. So now, before I pick anything I sidle up to the pods and give them a good feel. That way I at least know that there is a decent sized bean inside.

 

Thanks for leaving a comment. Let us know your experiences.

