May Clearances

I’m grateful that the warm weather has extended to the end of Autumn. It’s meant that I have still been able to plant some crops for spring. First I had to clear out the bed that had held the corn over summer. After our experience this year with the Scarlet Emperor beans re-growing from the previous season’s plants, I’ve decided to leave this year’s two Scarlet Emperor bean plants in the bed with the hope that they will also re-grow in summer.

The corn has been cleared and the bed has been reconditioned ready for our spring crops.
The corn has been cleared and the bed has been reconditioned ready for our spring crops.

I did buy two advanced Romanesca broccoli seedlings to give me a bit of a head start. I have also planted out two rows of Bulgarian Giant Leek seeds and put in 18 broadbean seeds. Over the coming week I will be looking out for the young shoots and hopefully I’ll find them before the snails do!

Two rows of leek seed in front of my Romanesca seedlings and broadbeans at the back.
Two rows of leek seed in front of my Romanesca seedlings and broadbeans at the back.

My seedlings are being protected from pecking by birds and or possums by a cage that I picked up at the re-cycling centre. I’ve already started putting support structures up for the broadbeans, (at the back of the photo), in this case the collapsible legs from our old camp chairs. I’m hoping they will keep the lower foliage in check as the plants grow and then I can put some strings around the poles to hold up the plants as they reach full height.

Meanwhile in the back garden TB has been planting garlic. We have lots of spinach, carrots, Jerusalem Artichokes, fennel and sorrel to use for warming winter soups. And bang on queue the first day of winter started with a drop in temperature and 14 mms of rain.

 

 

Thanks for leaving a comment. Let us know your experiences.

