A small step towards slow fashion

Like most people I’m attracted to the idea of ‘slow fashion’ but getting there from a large collection of existing clothing can be a challenge. I am regularly culling my wardrobe of good but no longer useful (to me) clothing,which goes to the local op-shop (thrift store), but what I have real problems with are T-shirts.

Mine have a tendency to fray at the neck and sleeves long before the body has worn out. And while I move them from ‘good’ to ‘gym wear’ to ‘gardening’, some of the t-shirts just don’t want to wear out. A case in point is my lovely ‘octopus’ pattern t-shirt from Stringybark. This one was made by the original company owners back in the 1980’s/90s, so it has definitely given plenty of service. It’s had one make-over already, you can see where I removed the original neckband, but I didn’t like this version enough to wear it much. 

The original t-shirt, minus it’s neckband, with the new pattern cut out

Then it dawned on me, I have a sleeveless tee that I love to wear in summer and I suspected it was almost the same dimensions as this t-shirt. Bingo! My sleeveless tee was an almost perfect match. I laid it out against the back of my t-shirt and drew around the armholes and neckline with a tailors chalk, allowing a 1.5 cm seam allowance (I ‘eyeballed’ this). I repeated the process with the front. Too easy.

I couldn’t be bothered dragging the sewing machine out just to sew the shoulder seams, so I back-stitched them by hand. I also hand rolled the edges on the neck and armholes and stitched them down with running stitch, using two strands of a blue embroidery thread I had handy.

Edge treatment and look how good that screenprint still is!
While I was stitching I remembered that part of the reason I didn’t like the previous neckline was that the machine stitching had a tendency to make the edge flare out.

So even though this shirt is not going to get beyond my garden, it will now get plenty more wear. I wonder if it will see out another 20 years of service?

Thanks for leaving a comment. Let us know your experiences.

